Billy Bennett: Chairman

Billy is the Registrar of Letterkenny Institute of Technology and brings to the board a wide range of experience in education , governance and business.

Pat Harvey: Secretary

Pat in his former CEO of the North Western Health Board. It was in this position in 2004 that he spearheaded the establishment of the North West Alcohol Forum which in 2007 became the Alcohol Forum. Pat is currently a management consultant working in various health care projects and more recently in the higher education sector also. Pat has held a number of national positions in areas such as, policy development, HR , and Partnership, and most recently was independent chairman of the Health Sector Implementation Body associated with the Public Sector (Croke Park ) agreement.

Shauna McClenaghan:

Shauna is Joint manager for the Inishowen Development Partnership, an integrated local development company that has successfully delivered rural development and social inclusion programs in Donegal since 1996. Shauna is chairperson of the Audit Committee.

Mary Hough

Mary is the Director of Sligo Education Centre, which provides support to teachers and the wider education community in Sligo and surrounding areas.

Lorraine Thompson

Lorraine is the Regional Director of Donegal Youth Service, a countywide youth service with over 30 affiliated youth clubs and projects that provide drop-in facilities, programmes and services to young people all over Donegal. Lorraine is a member of the Alcohol Forum Audit Committee.

Gordon Curley

Gordon is a Solicitor and a partner in a legal practice in Donegal. Originally from Athlone he has been living and working in Letterkenny since 1996. Gordon also has been active in the coaching and promotion of rugby in Donegal for many years. Gordon is the Chair of the Strategic Planning and Projects committee.

Dr Paul Armstrong

Paul is a GP in East Donegal for 32 years. He is the incoming Vice President of the ICGP. Paul served as Chairman of Habinteg Housing Association Ireland for 19 years and is currently a board member.

Dr Anne Burke

Anne graduated from DCU with a first class honours MSc degree in the Management and Application of Information Technology in Accounting in 1999. Prior to that Anne, a qualified Fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants (ACCA), enjoyed an 11 year career as an accountant where her work involved auditing, financial accounting and the implementation of SAP and Agresso ERP systems. Anne joined LYIT in 2001 as a lecturer. Since joining in 2001, she has acted as Head of Department for 2 years and is currently senior lecturer in Strategic Development in the School of Business. She pursued and graduated with a PhD around Information Systems Strategic Alignment under the supervision of Dr Joe McDonagh in Trinity College Dublin. She recently completed the Oxford Fintech Programme from Saïd Business School, University of Oxford.

Liam Ward

Liam is Director of Community Development & Planning Services with Donegal County Council, and is additionally the designated Director of the Letterkenny Municipal District. Liam has almost 37 years of Public Service, and previously served as Director of Housing and Corporate Services, including Human Resources from 2010 before taking up his current role in 2017. Liam serves on many committees at local, regional and national level, and is currently Vice-Chairperson of the Children & Young People’s Services Committee, and also serves the Local Community & Development Committee, and the Age Friendly Alliance in Donegal.

In his current role, Liam has responsibility for the Social Inclusion Unit within the Council and has developed working relationships with the majority of external groups and agencies that are active in this area.

Liam holds a Post Graduate Certificate in Management Studies and a Masters in Business Administration degree from University of Ulster. Liam is passionate about the development of Donegal in an inclusive way as an ideal location for business and community to thrive in a sustainable way, and to promote and protect the County and the many assets it has to offer. Liam is Company Treasurer.


Denis Bradley

Founder member of Northlands Alcohol and Drugs Counselling Centre.

Eamon O Kane

Derry Healthy Cities.

Superintendent Michael Finan

Represents the input of the Garda to the Forum.